Launching The Noble Bear

Welcome to The Noble Bear. This blog is an attempt at discourse on the evolution of human communication.  It will examine communication in advanced cultures over the past twenty years.  A special emphasis will be given to exploring the effects of technological advancements on personal interaction and organizational behavior. 

As a student of communication in the early 1990s, little or no debate was afforded the role of technology in the communicative process.  Commercial internet and the world-wide web were still in their infancy.  The technological explosion that has gifted us i-pods, kindles, droids, i-pads, text messaging, e-mail, Facebook, blogging, e-commerce and so much more were still far out on the horizon.

The forces of nature (and government) have afforded me the opportunity to again pursue a full-time academic agenda.  It has been  seventeen years since I earned my Bachelor of Arts in Speech Communication.    I am a proud combat veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom.  I have ventured into the business world.  I have held management and leadership positions in recruitment, training, retail, production, military, education and non-profit organizations.  I have attempted to use each of these professional ventures as an opportunity to develop my communication skills and understanding of personal interaction and organizational behavior.

I have returned to my alma mater to study computer science.  Over the next three years, I hope to complete all the requirements for a B.A. in Computer Science with and Information Management Emphasis.  In addition, I hope to supplement this coursework with additional classes in web communications, commercial art and graphic design, and accounting.  In the process, I look forward to comparing communication processes during my first academic journey to this one.

The goal of The Noble Bear is extremely self-serving.  Its first priority is to assist me in developing fundamental web communication skills.  This blog is initiated under the direction of Professor Brett Erickson as a requirement for his CMA 230-Web Fundamentals course.  The second goal of this blog, thus, is to fulfill the requirements of the course.  This blog will, accordingly, contain blog posts dictated by course requirements.  Computer Science and Web Communication is still communication.  I am excited about utilizing this blog to draw comparisons between my 90’s communication coursework and my current studies.

Upon completion of this second academic journey, I look forward to a new career trajectory.  I hope that these new career options will include data base management, systems analysis, web development, information architecture, computer generated commercial art,  computer programming and more.

This career path is part of a deliberate decision to move to more “task” oriented opportunities.  Specific events over the past ten years have impacted me in a manner that no longer makes “people” oriented service desirable for me.  My communication degree gave me very valuable, but generalized skills.  As we move toward becoming a more specialized society, these generalized skills become less marketable.  The new skills I hope to acquire in this academic journey are much more specialized.

Noble Bear was chosen as the title of this blog, quite simply, because it is the meaning of my last name, Alber, in its German origin.  Aaron Francesconi, author of Who Are You Online, and President, CEO and founder of WhooRU, suggests that domain names and blog names either identify with the author’s name or with the primary topic of the blog.  These connections would make this blog more search engine friendly.  I selected  Noble Bear despite these recommendations.  At this point in my studies, a quiet anonymity is still desirable to me.  The topics included on this blog could vary significantly.  Noble Bear also holds some potential for future brandability.

About Jesse Alber

Jesse Alber attained a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Speech Communications with an Athletic Coaching Endorsement from Hastings College in May, 1993. From 1994 - 2000, Alber served in leadership roles in human resources, retail, and production. Alber enlisted in the U.S. Army in 2000. He served as a Armored Cavalry Scout and Troop Training Manager with A 3/7 CAV 3d ID until 2004. Alber deployed to Bosnia in 2001 and Kwait / Iraq in 2003. Alber served in the Army Reserves from 2005 - 2008. From 2004 - 2010 Alber served as the Adult Education Coordinator for Central Community College and Executive Director for the Hastings Literacy Program. Alber returned to Hastings College in 2010 to study Computer Science and Web Design. He is currently emploed as a Programming and Web Development Intern with Servi-Tech Industries. Alber will complete his program of study in the summer of 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

